BIOS

Regardless of where people live, they are all the same when it comes to life’s fundamental questions and the challenges of our time.

Renée Blanchar

Renee_After completing film studies in Paris, Acadian filmmaker Renée Blanchar returned home and began working. In many ways, she is a pioneer not only in the Acadian film community, but also in terms of the place of women in television and film. She was the first Canadian woman admitted to La Fémis, France’s national school of film, through a competitive process. In 1989, she became the youngest jury member in the history of the prestigious Cannes Film Festival, under the presidency of Wim Wenders. With respect to fiction, Renée produced a number of noteworthy short films before entering the world of television. She was at the helm of the Belle-Baie TV series for five seasons. To this day she is the only woman to have been nominated for Gémeaux awards for scriptwriting and directing for the same series (2013). As for documentaries, Renée stands out for the strength of her topics and a singular talent for revealing the humanity of the characters in her stories. Raoul Léger, La vérité morcelée (2002) and On a tué l’Enfant-Jésus (2007) have both been named Best Acadian Film at the Festival du cinéma francophone en Acadie. Les héritiers du club (2014) and Nos hommes dans l’Ouest (2017) both opened the FICFA festival and were warmly received. Renée hopes to be able to write and produce all her projects from Caraquet, the French-speaking port community in eastern Canada that she calls home.

 

To create work that is moving, resonates with people, and has its own distinct voice. To be self-aware yet open to the experience of others. To show leadership, be innovative and share one’s talent. To be firmly rooted yet fully open.

Maryse Chapdelaine

Trained in the arts and humanities, then in management, Maryse Chapdelaine joined the National Film Board of Canada in the 1980s. She worked on a large number of national and international productions and co-productions as an administrator, then as line producer and finally producer. She took over management of the NFB’s Studio Acadie in October 2011. There, she produced the documentary films of several Acadian filmmakers, including Phil Comeau, Paul Émile D’Entremont, Renée Blanchar, Rodolphe Caron and Louiselle Noël. Her main focus was supporting new filmmakers. In April 2015, she joined Renée Blanchar in the production company ÇA TOURNE PRODUCTIONS to produce documentaries and works of fiction as well as new medias.

 BACK

Top

BIOS

Quel que soit l’endroit où ils vivent, les hommes sont les mêmes face aux grandes questions de la vie et aux enjeux de notre temps. 

Renée Blanchar

Renee_Après avoir terminé ses études en réalisation à Paris, la cinéaste acadienne Renée Blanchar retourne chez elle et se met au travail. À bien des égards, son parcours est précurseur pour la cinématographie en Acadie, mais également pour la place des femmes à la télévision et au cinéma. Elle est la première Canadienne à entrer à la FEMIS (Fondation européenne de l’image et du son) par voie de concours. En 1989, elle devient la plus jeune jurée de l’histoire du prestigieux Festival du film de Cannes, sous la présidence de Wim Wenders. Côté fiction, Renée réalise quelques courts métrages remarqués avant de plonger dans l’univers de la télévision. Elle est à la barre de la télésérie Belle-Baie pendant cinq saisons. Elle demeure la seule femme à avoir été mise en nomination aux prix Gémeaux pour la scénarisation et la réalisation d’une même télésérie (2013). En documentaire, Renée se distingue par la force de ses sujets et un talent singulier pour révéler l’humanité des personnages qui portent ses histoires. Raoul Léger, La vérité morcelée (2002) et On a tué l’Enfant-Jésus (2007) remportent respectivement la vague du meilleur film acadien au Festival du cinéma francophone en Acadie. Les héritiers du club (2014) et Nos hommes dans l’Ouest (2017) ont tous deux étés présentés en ouverture du FICFA où l’accueil a été vibrant. Le pari improbable de Renée est d’écrire et réaliser pratiquement tous ses films depuis Caraquet, la ville francophone portuaire où elle vit, à l’est du Canada.

 

Toucher et émouvoir, avoir une résonnance et une couleur particulière et unique. Partir de soi pour aller vers les autres. Assumer son leadership et assurer l’innovation et l’expression de son talent. S’enraciner et ouvrir l’œil et le bon !

Maryse Chapdelaine

Initialement formée dans le domaine des arts et des lettres, puis en gestion, Maryse Chapdelaine rejoint l’Office national du film du Canada au cours des années 1980. Elle a collaboré à un nombre important de productions, coproductions nationales et internationales à titre d’administratrice puis de productrice déléguée et enfin comme productrice. Elle prend en charge le studio Acadie (ONF) en Octobre 2011. Elle y produit les films documentaires de plusieurs cinéastes acadiens dont Phil Comeau, Paul Émile D’Entremont, Renée Blanchar, Rodolphe Caron et Louiselle Noël. Elle s’occupe particulièrement de la relève. En avril 2015, elle s’associe à Renée Blanchar dans la boite de production ÇA TOURNE PRODUCTIONS pour y produire autant du documentaire que de la fiction et des œuvres pour le web.

 RETOUR

Top